MONSTER MAGNET – Videopremiere von „Mindless Ones“

| 9. Oktober 2013 | 0 Comments

MONSTER MAGNET gelten seit Jahrzehnten als Pioniere im Stoner Rock Genre. Mit dem am 18. Oktober erscheinenden zehnten Studioalbum „Last Patrol“ gehen die Amerikaner sogar noch einen Schritt weiter. Das Album kombiniert nach eigenen Angaben Garage Rock, Progressive Rock, Heavy Metal mit Punk und Psychodelic-Einflüssen. Bevor „Last Patrol“ Mitte Oktober erscheint, versüßt uns der Clip zu „Mindless Ones das Warten.


Frontmann und Monster Magnet Mastermind Dave Wyndorf zum neuen Album: „Last Patrol“ is a return to our roots in terms of vibe and recording style. It’s full-on psychedelic space-rock with a ’60s garage feel, recorded almost exclusively with vintage guitars, amps and effects in our hometown of Red Bank, New Jersey. The songs are a kind of space-noir, tales of cosmic revenge, peaking libidos, alienation and epic strangeness. It’s a weird trip through the back alleys of a dark, retro-future, which not by coincidence very much resembles my own life. [laughs] The lyrics aren’t fantasy really, rather a recounting of my musings on, observations of and general emotional reaction to my life and environment during a 1 week writing period in February of 2013. But I tend to use the vernacular and imagery of science fiction and surrealism to express myself and that’s where these lyrics get trippy. There’s also our cover version of DONOVAN’s ‚Three Kingfishers‘, which I thought fit the mood of the album.

Er kommentiert weiters: „Last Patrol“ was produced by Phil Caivano and myself with an effort to bring a homegrown feel to the whole affair. We had been doing smaller projects out of Phil’s Studio 13 recording space and I really felt comfortable there so it was the natural choice on where to record the next full-scale MONSTER MAGNET album. Phil and I grew up together and have a shared love of some very particular vintage music and styles. And everybody in the band played their asses off on this one.

„Last Patrol“ Track List:

01. I Live Behind The Clouds
02. Last Patrol
03. Three King Fishers
04. Paradise
05. Hallelujah
06. Mindless Ones
07. The Duke
08. End Of Time
09. Stay Tuned


Teile diesen Artikel

Tags: , , ,

Category: News, Videos - AKTUELLES